Home > Certifications > Which SQL Server Certification should I take: 98-364, 70-461 or 70-761 ? – MSDN TSQL forum

Which SQL Server Certification should I take: 98-364, 70-461 or 70-761 ? – MSDN TSQL forum

February 18, 2017 Leave a comment Go to comments

–> Question:

I just started learning SQL Server, and I want to get certified, I checked internet, but I got confused.

There is exam 98-364, 70-461, 70-761, and i want to get MCSA in SQL

could some one explain to me what should i do …

–> My Answer:

>> MCSA or Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate in SQL Server can be earned on following areas with respective exams:

– Database Development (761, 762)
– Database Administration (764, 765)
– Business Intelligence (767, 768)

>> Exam 98-364 is to get Microsoft Technology Associate (MTA) certification. It is the most basic exam that focuses just on basic SQL, and is for people new to technology, who need to validate their knowledge of fundamental concepts before moving on to more advanced certifications. This exam covers:

1. RDBMS, DBMS concepts and terms, like Normanization, PK, FK, etc.
2. Plain SQL querying knowledge, like DDL, DML, etc. and indexes.
3. Simple DBA stuff, like security, backup/restore, etc.

Link: https://www.microsoft.com/en-in/learning/exam-98-364.aspx

>> Exam 70-761 is also an advanced exam which is based upon SQL Server 2016, which is the latest version of SQL Server as of today. To earn MCSA you have to take 70-762 exam as well as mentioned above, check this link for MCSA SQL Server 2016: https://www.microsoft.com/en-in/learning/mcsa-sql-2016-certification.aspx

>> Exam 70-461 is also an advance level exam but now older based upon SQL Server 2012 or 2014. Check this link for MCSA SQL Server 2012/2014: https://www.microsoft.com/en-in/learning/mcsa-sql-certification.aspx

Please note: Exam 98-364 is not required here, and as mentioned above its just to make sure you have knowledge in working with basic SQL Querying.

Ref link.

  1. February 18, 2017 at 8:18 am

    For MCSA SQL server 2012/2014, wouldn’t a person has to also take 70-463 as well? It is kinda interesting that 2016 version only needs 2 exams.

    • February 18, 2017 at 1:38 pm

      Yes Patt, for MSCA 2012/14, you have to pass 3 exams, 461, 462 & 463, which was a mix of SQL querying, DBA & BI.

      But with MSCA 2016 they have divided it into TSQL, DBA & BI, as per your interest.

  2. February 20, 2017 at 8:15 pm


    I had the same difficulty to choose between begin with 70-461 (the old) and later continue with 462 and 463; Or to choose 70-761 (new) and later from 70-762

    I chose the first option with the opinion help of two persons:
    –It will spend time to the companies have the new sqlserver 2016 in their offices.
    –The new 70-761_762 (and other combinations) are more difficult than the old one.

    I am not sure if this advices are correct, but at the moment, i will try to pass 70-461


  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: